Steam Loco Movements 2016
updated Fri 23-Dec-16


UKsteam.info front page
www.uksteam.info

Main Line Steam Tours index page
[Tours front page]


MAINLINE STEAM LOCO MOVEMENTS 2016


This is an unofficial list of booked steam locomotive light engine and ecs movements over Network Rail lines during 2016. The information is provided in good faith, but is NOT comprehensive and is not guaranteed accurate! Such movements quite often run at different times from those booked. Note that light engine and support coach moves on the same day as a related railtour will normally appear on railtour times page. No responsibility is accepted for any errors or omissions.

Comments, updates, corrections (or criticism) are very welcome. Please send by email to: webmaster at uksteam.info. A very special thanks to all those who have contributed information - especially details of planned tours, train times, and updates on main line locomotives. Please keep sending it !

Note: Please do NOT contact train operators for further details on these loco movements. It causes unneccessary additional work for staff and is not welcome.

Note Some movements may not be shown until after the event, at the request of the operator.


|2015|Jan|Feb|Mar |Apr|May|Jun|Jul |Aug|Sep|Oct|Nov |Dec|2017|
|This week|
|Loco locations|

|Steam hauled tours|
|Abbreviations|


     Date      Loco and Route
Notes
Week 01
Sat 02-Jan    
Week 02
Tue 05-Jan 44871: Grosmont-York-Bury [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Week 03
Sat 16-Jan    
Week 04
Tue 19-Jan 60103: Bury-Carnforth [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Wed 20-Jan 60103: Carnforth-Bury [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Fri 22-Jan 44871: Grosmont-Bury [Times] E+C
Week 05
Wed 27-Jan 60103: Bury-Carnforth [Times] D+E+C
Thu 28-Jan 48151: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth [Times]
[Light test run]
E+C+D
 
Fri 29-Jan 46233: Butterley-Crewe-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Week 06
Thu 04-Feb 60103: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth [wcrc] [Times]
60103: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth-Blackburn-Preston-Carnforth
[Light and loaded test runs]
E+C
E+ECS+D
 
Week 07
Sat 13-Feb 44871: Bury-Blackburn [wcrc] [Times] E+C
Sat 13-Feb 45699: Carnforth-Preston-Blackburn [wcrc] [Times] 2E+ECS
Week 08
Mon 15-Feb 44871: Blackburn-Bury [wcrc] [Times] E+C
Mon 15-Feb 60163: Southall-Stewarts Lane [dbs] [Times] E+C
Week 09
Mon 22-Feb 60103: York NRM-Scarborough-York NRM [dbs] [Times] [CANCELLED]
[Cancelled due to broken spring]
E+C
Tue 23-Feb 60103: York NRM-Wembley [dbs] [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Tue 23-Feb 60103: York NRM-Scarborough-York NRM [dbs] [Times] E+C
Wed 24-Feb 60103: York NRM-Wembley [dbs] [Times] E+C
Week 10
Sat 05-Mar    
Week 11
Tue 08-Mar 46233: Carnforth-Bury [dbc] - [CANCELLED] D+E+C
Thu 10-Mar 60103: York-Grosmont [dbc] [Times] E+C
Sat 12-Mar 60163: Stewarts Lane-Didcot [dbc] [Times] E+C
Week 12
Sun 20-Mar 46233: Millerhill-Crewe [dbc] [Times] E+C
Week 13
Mon 21-Mar 60103: Grosmont-York [dbc] [Times] E+C
Week 14
Fri 01-Apr 46233: Crewe-Carnforth [wcrc] [Times] E+C
Week 15
Mon 04-Apr 62005: Carnforth-Grosmont [wcrc] [Times] E+C
Fri 08-Apr 45699: Carnforth-Skegness [wcrc] [Times] D+E+ECS
Fri 08-Apr 46100: Crewe-Carnforth [wcrc] [Times] E+C
Week 16
Thu 14-Apr 35067: Southall-Carnforth [wcrc] [Times] D+E+C+D
Thu 14-Apr 45690+48151: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth [wcrc] [Times] E+C+E
Week 17
Wed 20-Apr 34052: Crewe-Chester-Crewe (twice) [dbc] [Times]
[34046 running as 34052, Light test runs]
E+C
Wed 20-Apr 45699: Carnforth-Crewe [wcrc] [Times]
46100+45699: Crewe-Southall [wcrc]
[Ran without 45699 which failed]
E+C
2E+2C
Week 18
Mon 25-Apr 44871: Castleton-Southall [wcrc] [Times] [44871 failed near Stafford with broken radius rod] E+C
Mon 25-Apr 34052: Crewe-Chester-Shrewsbury-Bushbury Jn-Crewe [dbc] [Times]
[Loaded test run]
E+ECS+D
Wed 27-Apr 46233: Butterley-Crewe [wcrc] [Times] [CANCELLED]
[46233 not fit to run]
E+C
Wed 27-Apr 44871: Crewe-Bristol [wcrc] [Times] E+C+D
Fri 29-Apr 45407: Bury-Carnforthl [wcrc] - [CANCELLED] E+C
Fri 29-Apr 44871+45407: Carnforth-Bo'ness [wcrc] [Times] E+C+D
Week 19
Wed 04-May 44871: Dumbarton-Fort William [wcrc] [Times] E+C
Week 20
Mon 09-May 45407: Bury-Fort William [wcrc] [Times] E+C
Thu 12-May 34052: Crewe-Southall - E+C
Fri 13-May 62005: Grosmont-Fort William - [POSTPONED to 17-May] E+C
Week 21
Tue 17-May 62005: Grosmont-Fort William - E+C
Thu 19-May 46100: Bristol-Crewe (provisional) - [POSTPONED to 23-May] E+C
Fri 20-May 60103: York-Southall - E+C
Sat 21-May 34052: Southall-Ferme Park - E+C
Week 22
Mon 23-May 46100: Bristol-Hereford-Crewe [Times] E+C
Week 23
Wed 01-Jun 48151: Carnforth-York [Times] E+C
Fri 03-Jun 45699: Carnforth-Southall [Times] E+C
Week 24
Tue 07-Jun 60103: York-Crewe [Times] E+C
Tue 07-Jun 45699 46115: Carnforth-Chester [Times] D+E+ECS
Thu 09-Jun 46100: Crewe-Bristol (provisional) [CANCELLED] E+C
Fri 10-Jun 60103: Southall-Barnetby [Times] D+E+ECS ?
Week 25
Tue 14-Jun 60103: York-Crewe [Times] E+C
Wed 15-Jun 46100: York-Dereham MNR - [CANCELLED] E+C
Wed 15-Jun 46201: Tyseley-Stratford-Tyseley - [CANCELLED]
[Light test run] [Rescheduled to 16-Jun]
E+C+D ?
Thu 16-Jun 46201: Tyseley-Stratford-Tyseley (twice) [Times]
[Light and loaded test runs]
E+C+D
E+ECS+D
Thu 16-Jun 34052: Southall-Stewarts Lane [Times] E+C
Fri 17-Jun 46201: Tyseley-Derby [Times] E+ECS+D ?
Sat 18-Jun 46201: Derby-Butterley [Times] E+C ?
Week 26
Wed 22-Jun 46100: York-Wymondham [Times] D+E+C
Thu 23-Jun 46233: Butterley-Wymondham [Times] D+E+C
Week 27
Mon 27-Jun 46233: Dereham-Stamford-Butterley [Times] E+C
Mon 27-Jun 60163: York-London Stewarts Lane [Times] E+C
Tue 28-Jun 46201: Butterley-Southall (provisional) - [CANCELLED] E+C
Tue 28-Jun 46100: Dereham-Nuneaton-Bristol [Times] E+C
Thu 30-Jun 45699: Carnforth-Southall [Times]
[Corrected date]
E+C
Week 28
Sat 09-Jul    
Week 29
Wed 13-Jul 46115: Carnforth-Southall [Times] D+E+C
Thu 14-Jul 45699: Southall-Carnforth [Times] D+E+C
Fri 15-Jul 34046: Southall-Bristol [Times] E+C
Week 30
Mon 18-Jul 60009: Thornton-Shildon [Times] E+C
Wed 20-Jul 46115: Southall-Carnforth [Times] D+E+C
Wed 20-Jul 60103: York-Shildon [Times] D+E+C
Fri 22-Jul 46233: Butterley-Crewe [Times] E+C
Fri 22-Jul 48151: York-Carnforth [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Sat 23-Jul 45690: Carnforth-Crewe [Times] E+C
Sun 24-Jul 46233: Crewe-Butterley [Times] E+C
Week 31
Tue 26-Jul 46100: Bristol-Crewe [Times] D+E+C
Fri 29 Jul 34046: Gloucester-Southall (provisional) [CANCELLED] D+E+C
Week 32
Tue 02 Aug 60009+60103: Shildon-York [Times] D+E+C
Tue 02 Aug 60009: York-Bury [Times] D+E+C
Thu 04-Aug 46100: Crewe-Millerhill x D+E+C
Thu 04-Aug 60163: Stewarts Lane-Bristol [Times] [CANCELLED]
[Cancelled - 60163 not fit to run]
E+C
Fri 05-Aug 34046: Gloucester-Southall [Times] E+C
Fri 05-Aug 46233: Butterley-Southall [Times] E+C
Sat 06-Aug 46233: Southall-Biishops Lydeard [Times] E+C
Sat 06-Aug 60163: Stewarts Lane-Bristol [Times] E+C
Week 33
Mon 08-Aug 46233: Biishops Lydeard-Southall [Times] E+C
Mon 08-Aug 45699: Carnforth-Southall [Times] E+C
Tue 09-Aug 60163: Bristol-Stewarts Lane [Times] E+C
Sat 13-Aug 46233: Southall-Kings Cross [Times] E+ECS
Sun 14-Aug 60163: Stewarts Lane-Orton Mere NVR - E+C
Week 34
Wed 17-Aug 46201: Butterley-Derby-Sheffield-Butterley [Times]
[Test run]
E+C
Thu 18-Aug 45699: Southall-Carnforth (provisional) [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Week 35
Mon 22-Aug 46201: Butterley-Southall [Times] E+C
Thu 25-Aug 45699: Southall-Carnforth [Times]
E+C
Sat 27-Aug 46201: Southall-Ferme Park [Times] E+ECS
Sat 27-Aug 46233: Southall-Bristol [Times] D+E+ECS
Sun 28-Aug 46233: Derby-Butterley [Times] E+C
Week 36
Mon 29-Aug 46100: Carlisle-Millerhill [Times] E+C
Wed 31-Aug 60163: Orton Mere NVR-Stewarts Lane-Bristol [Times] E+C
Sat 03-Sep 45699: Carnforth-Crewe - [CANCELLED]
[45699 unavailable]
E+C
Sat 03-Sep 46115: Carnforth-Chester [Times] E+C
Sun 04-Sep 46233: Bristol-Oxford-Tyseley [Times] E+C
Week 37
Mon 05-Sep 60163: Bristol-Stewarts Lane [Times] E+C
Mon 05-Sep 46233: Tyseley-Butterley [Times] E+C
Fri 09-Sep 60163: Kidderminster-Bristol [Times] E+C
Fri 09-Sep 46201+46233: Butterley-Derby [Times]
46201: Derby-Bristol
E+C
Fri 09-Sep 48151: York-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Week 38
Mon 12-Sep 60163: Bristol-Kidderminster [Times] E+C
Tue 13-Sep 60103: York-Tyseley [Times] E+C
Sun 18-Sep 46201: Penzance-Laira-Penzance [Times] D+E+C ?
Week 39
Mon 19-Sep 76084: Sheringham-Carnforth [Times] E+C+D
Mon 19-Sep 60103: Tyseley-Kidderminster [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Tue 20-Sep 76084: Carnforth-Hellifield-Preston-Carnforth [Times]
[Loaded test run]
E+ECS+D
Tue 20-Sep 60103: Tyseley-Kidderminster [Times] E+C
Wed 21-Sep 76084: Carnforth-York-Grosmont [Times]
E+C
Fri 23-Sep 46233: Butterley-Derby [Times] D+E+C ?
Sat 24-Sep 46115: Carnforth-Burton on Wetmore [Times] D+E+ECS ?
Week 40
Mon 26-Sep 46100: Millerhill-Crewe [Times] E+C
Mon 26-Sep 46115: Burton on Wetmore-Carnforth [Times] D+E+ECS ?
Tue 27-Sep 60163: Kidderminster-Stewarts Lane [Times] E+C
Wed 28-Sep 60103: Kidderminster-Bury [Times] E+C
Sat 01-Oct 46233: Butterley-Oxford-Bristol [Times] [CANCELLED]
[Cancelled due to an operational issue at Butterley]
E+C
Week 41
Mon 03-Oct 46233: Bristol-Oxford-Butterley [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Sat 08-Oct 45407: Fort William-Bo'ness-Thornton [Times] E+C
Week 42
Mon 10-Oct 45407: Bo'ness Thornton-Fort William [Times] E+C
Thu 13-Oct 46201: Gloucester-Southall [Times] E+C
Week 43
Mon 17-Oct 45699: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth (twice) [Times]
[Crew training]
E+C
Tue 18-Oct 46100: Crewe-Southall [Times] E+C
Tue 18-Oct 60103: Castleton-York [Times] E+C
Tue 18-Oct 45699: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth (twice) [Times]
[Crew training]
E+C
Wed 19-Oct 46100: Southall-Ropley MHR [Times] E+C
Wed 19-Oct 45699: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth (twice) [Times]
[Crew training]
E+C
Thu 20-Oct 45699: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth (twice) (provisional) [Times]
[Crew training]
E+C
Fri 21-Oct 62005: Fort William-Carlisle [Times] E+C
Fri 21-Oct 45699: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth (twice) (provisional) [Times]
[Crew training]
E+C
Sat 22-Oct 62005: Carlisle-Grosmont [Times] E+C
Week 44
Mon 24-Oct 46100: Alton MHR-Southall [Times] E+C
Mon 24-Oct 45699: Carnforth-York [Times] D+E+ECS
Wed 26-Oct 45690: Carnforth-York [Times] E+C
Thu 27-Oct 45699: York-Carnforth [Times] D+E+C ?
Fri 28-Oct 46233: Butterley-Southall [Times] E+C
Fri 28-Oct 45699 45690: York-Carnforth [Times] D+E+ECS
Week 45
Mon 31-Oct 44871: Bo'ness-Carnforth [Times] D+E+C
Tue 01-Nov 45407: Fort William-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Fri 04-Nov 46201: Southall-Norwich [Times] x D+E+ECS
Fri 04-Nov 60163: Stewarts Lane-Kidderminster [Times] E+C
Sat 05-Nov 44871+45407: Carnforth-Blackburn [Times] 2E+ECS+D ?
Week 46
Mon 07-Nov 46201: Norwich-Southall [Times] D+E+ECS
Sun 13-Nov 34046: Swanage-Southall [Times] E+C
Week 47
Tue 15-Nov 45699: Carnforth-Hellifield-Preston-Carnforth [Times]
[Training]
E+ECS
Wed 16-Nov 45699: Carnforth-Hellifield-Preston-Carnforth [Times]
[Training]
E+ECS
Thu 17-Nov 45699: Carnforth-Hellifield-Preston-Carnforth [Times]
[Training]
E+ECS
Thu 17-Nov 44871+45407: Carnforth-Bristol [Times] 2E+C
Fri 18-Nov 45699: Carnforth-Hellifield-Preston-Carnforth [Times]
[Training]
E+ECS
Week 48
Mon 21-Nov 44871+45407: Bristol-Southall [Times] D+2E+ECS
Wed 23-Nov 44871+45407: Southall-Swanage [Times] D+2E+ECS ?
Sat 26-Nov 44871+45407: Southall-Birmingham International [Times] D+2E+ECS ?
Week 49
Mon 28-Nov 62005: Grosmont-York-Carnforth - E+C
Week 50
Wed 07-Dec 46233: Southall-Peterborough [Times] D+E+ECS
Week 51
Wed 14-Dec 46201: Southall-Butterley - D+E+C
Fri 16-Dec 44871+45407: Southall-Carnforth [Times] 2E+C
Sat 17-Dec 44871+45407: Carnforth-Fort William [Times] 2E+C
Week 52
Tue 20-Dec 46233: York-Spalding-Peterborough [Times] updated (19/12) E+C
Fri 23-Dec 76084: Grosmont-York-Bury [Times] updated (22/12) E+C
Week 53
Fri 30-Dec 44871+45407: Fort William-Carnforth [Times] updated (23/12) 2E+ECS+D
Sat 31-Dec 44871+45407: Carnforth-Bury 2E+C



[Movements in 2017]

[Return to top of page]



Locations of currently operational main line locos as at 02:00 Sun 18-Dec


Site          Locos
Southall (LS) 34046, 46100
Southall (WCRC) --
Stewarts Lane 60163
Didcot GWS srm93
Gloucester --
Bristol --
West Somerset Rly --
Tyseley 4965, 5043, 7752, 9466, 9600 4936, 71000
Crewe 5029, 35028, 60019, 70000
Bury 60009
Butterley 46201
Carnforth 45231, 45690, 45699, 46115, 62005 34067, 44932, 48151, 61306
York NRM 46233, 60103, 60007
Shildon NRM --
NYMR 61994, 76084 61264
Fort William 44871, 45407
Elsewhere 45305, 70013


[Return to top of page]
Main Line Steam Tours index page
[Tours front page]


Whilst every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of this information,
no responsibility can be taken for any errors or omissions.

Comments by email to:webmaster at uksteam.info