Steam Loco Movements 2015
updated Tue 29-Dec-15


UKsteam.info front page
www.uksteam.info

Main Line Steam Tours index page
[Tours front page]


MAINLINE STEAM LOCO MOVEMENTS 2015

This is an unofficial list of booked steam locomotive light engine and ecs movements over Network Rail lines during 2015. The information is provided in good faith, but is NOT comprehensive and is not guaranteed accurate! Such movements quite often run at different times from those booked. Note that light engine and support coach moves on the same day as a related railtour will normally appear on railtour times page. No responsibility is accepted for any errors or omissions.

Comments, updates, corrections (or criticism) are very welcome. Please send by email to: webmaster at uksteam.info. A very special thanks to all those who have contributed information - especially details of planned tours, train times, and updates on main line locomotives. Please keep sending it !

Note: Please do NOT contact train operators for further details on these loco movements. It causes unneccessary additional work for staff and is not welcome.

Note Some movements may not be shown until after the event, at the request of the operator.


|2014|Jan|Feb|Mar |Apr|May|Jun|Jul |Aug|Sep|Oct|Nov |Dec|2016|
|This week|
|Loco locations|

|Steam hauled tours|
|Abbreviations|


     Date      Route Notes
Week 01
Sat 03-Jan    
Week 02
Wed 07-Jan 60009: York-Crewe [Times] E+C
Week 03
Sat 17-Jan    
Week 04
Mon 19-Jan 60019: Southall-Ropley [Times] D+E+C
Week 05
Fri 30-Jan 46233: Butterley-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Week 06
Sat 07-Feb    
Week 07
Tue 10-Feb 61306: Sheringham NNR-Norwich [Times] D+E
Sat 14-Feb 44871+45407: Casfeton-Blackburn [Times] 2E+C
Week 08
Tue 17-Feb 5029: Bristol-Hereford-Crewe [Times] E+C
Week 09
Fri 27-Feb 70000: Alton MHR-Southall [Times] E+C
Week 10
Wed 04-Mar 61994: Bury ELR-Carnforth [Times]
61994+62005: Carnforth-York-Grosmont NYMR
2E+2C
Week 11
Sat 14-Mar    
Week 12
Fri 20-Mar 70000: Southall-Bishops Lydeard WSR [Times] E+C
Fri 20-Mar 44871+45407: Bury ELR-York-Grosmont NYMR [Times] 2E+2C
Fri 20-Mar 61994+62005: Grosmont NYMR-York [Times] 2E+C
Fri 20-Mar 61306: Southall-East Grinstead BBR [Times] [CANCELLED]
[Ran without 61306 due to failed FTR]
E+ECS
Week 13
Mon 23-Mar 62005: York NRM-Tyseley [Times]
E+C
Week 14
Tue 31-Mar 70000: Bishops Lydeard WSR-Swanage SR [Times] E+C
Fri 03-Apr 62005: Tyseley-York NRM [CANCELLED]
[Cancelled due to operational restrictions, To be moved by road]
E+C
Week 15
Fri 10-Apr 46233: Butterley-Derby [Times] [CANCELLED]
[Cancelled due to operational restrictions]
E+C
Week 16
Mon 13-Apr 4936: Bishops Lydeard WSR-Grosmont NYMR [CANCELLED]
[Cancelled due to operational restrictions]
E+C
Thu 16-Apr 61994: York NRM-Grosmont NYMR D+E+C
Week 17
Sat 25-Apr    
Week 18
Mon 27-Apr 70000: Swanage-Exeter Stewarts Lane [Times] E+C
Wed 29-Apr 44871+45407: Grosmont-Shrewsbury [Times] [CANCELLED] 2E+C
Week 19
Fri 08-May 44871+45407: Grosmont-Fort William - [CANCELLED] 2E+C
Fri 08-May 44871+45407: Grosmont-York NRM [Times]
2E+2C
Sat 09-May 44871+45407: York NRM-Fort William [Times]
2E+2C
Week 20
Fri 15-May 45699: Carnforth-York [Times]
D+E+ECS ?
Sat 16-May 62005: Grosmont-Dumbarton [Times]
E+C
Sun 17-May 62005: Dumbarton-Fort William [Times]
E+C
Week 21
Thu 21-May 5043: Tyseley-Henley-Stratford-Dorridge-Tyseley [Times]
[Diverted via Henley on return due to points failure]
E+ECS
Sun 24-May 70000: Bristol-Crewe [Times]
E+C
Week 22
Sat 30-May    
Week 23
Tue 02-Jun 70000: Crewe-Bristol [Times]
E+C
Week 24
Thu 11-Jun 60009: Crewe-Carnforth [Times] [CANCELLED]
E+C
Fri 12-Jun 60009: Crewe-Carnforth [Times]
[Move terminated at Warrington due to hot box]
E+C
Week 25
Wed 17-Jun 60163: Shildon-Millerhill [Times]
[Test run]
E+ECS
Wed 17-Jun 46233: Butterley-Dereham [Times]
E+C
Fri 19-Jun 70000: Bristol-Southall [Times]
E+C
Fri 19-Jun 34067: Southall-Swanage [Times]
D+E+ECS
Sun 21-Jun 34067: Swanage-Southall [Times]
D+E+ECS
Week 26
Mon 22-Jun 46233: Dereham-Butterley [Times]
E+C
Wed 24-Jun 60163: Edinburgh-Carlisle [Times]
E+C
Week 27
Thu 02-Jul 34067: Southall-Swindon-Bristol [Times]
E+C
Sat 04-Jul 60007: Grosmont-York [Times]
[60007 failed FTR ?]
E+C
Sat 04-Jul 34067: Southall-Swindon-Bristol [Times] [CANCELLED]
D+E+ECS
Sat 04-Jul 60163: Carlisle-Newcastle-Millerhill [Times]
E+C
Week 28
Mon 06-Jul 60163: Millerhill-York NRM [Times]
E+C
Wed 08-Jul 60163: Southall-Bristol [Times]
E+C
Thu 09-Jul 45690: Carlisle-Carnforth [Times]
[Following failure of 45690 at Carlisle]
D+E+C
Week 29
Wed 15-Jul 46233: Butterley-Crewe [Times]
E+C
Sat 18-Jul 45699: Carnforth-Crewe [Times]
E+C
Sat 18-Jul 61306: Southall-Ferme Park [Times] [CANCELLED] E+ECS
Sun 19-Jul 45699: Llandudno Jn-Carnforth [Times]
E+C
Week 30
Mon 20-Jul 61306: Ferme Park-Southall - [CANCELLED] E+ECS
Mon 20-Jul 34067: Bristol-Southall [Times]
E+C
Thu 23-Jul 60009: Crewe HS-Sandbach-Crewe HS (twice) [Times]
E+C
Fri 24-Jul 60009: Crewe HS-Sandbach-Crewe HS (twice) [Times]
E+C
Sat 25-Jul 34067: Southall-Bristol [Times]
E+C
Sat 25-Jul 61306: Southall-Acton Lane [Times]
D+E+ECS
Week 31
Sat 01-Aug 45690 46115: Carnforth-Crewe [Times]
E+C
Sun 02-Aug 34067: Plymouth-Bristol [Times]
[Following failure of 34067 at Plymouth]
D+E+ECS
Week 32
Mon 03-Aug 34067: Bristol-Southall [Times]
D+E+ECS
Tue 04-Aug 60163: Bristol-Stewarts Lane [Times]
E+C
Week 33
Mon 10-Aug 60009: Crewe-Southall [Times]
E+C
Tue 11-Aug 48151: Carnforth-Hellifield-Blackburn-Carnforth [Times]
[Test run, Returned direct Hellifield to Carnforth]
E+C
Wed 12-Aug 60163: Stewarts Lane-Orton Mere NVR [Times]
E+C
Fri 14-Aug 70000: Southall-Bristol [Times]
E+C
Sat 15-Aug 60009: Southall-Bristol [Times]
E+ECS
Sun 16-Aug 60009: Newton Abbot-Totnes [Times]
[After failure on Royal Duchy]
E+C
Week 34
Mon 17-Aug 60009: Bristol-Southall [Times] [CANCELLED] E+C
Week 35
Fri 28-Aug 61306/TBA: Southall-Greenford-Southall [Times]
LE
Fri 28-Aug 34067: Southall-Tonbridge-Ramsgate [Times]
E+C ?
Sat 29-Aug 34067: Ramsgate-Tonbridge-Southall [Times]
E+C ?
Week 36
Wed 02-Sep 46233: Crewe-Rugby [Times]
E+C
Thu 03-Sep 60009: Totnes-Plymouth-Bristol [Times]
E+C
Thu 03-Sep 61306: Southall-Sheringham [Times]
E+C
Fri 04-Sep 60009: Bristol-Crewe HS [Times]
E+C
Sat 05-Sep 45407: Fort William-Boness [Times]
E+C
Sat 05-Sep 34067: Eastleigh-Reading-Southall [Times]
E+C
Week 37
Mon 07-Sep 45407: Boness-Edinburgh-Fort William [Times]
E+C
Mon 07-Sep 60009: Crewe-Penrith-Tyne Yard [Times]
E+C
Mon 07-Sep 60163: Orton Mere-York [Times]
E+C
Tue 08-Sep 60163: York-Tyne Yard -
60009+60163: Tyne Yard-Millerhill Yard
2E+2C
Fri 11-Sep 45231: Carnforth-Bristol [Times]
E+C
Sun 13-Sep 45231: Bristol-Carnforth [Times]
E+C
Week 38
Mon 14-Sep 60163: Millerhill-York [Times]
E+ECS
Tue 15-Sep 70000: Bristol-Kidderminster [Times]
E+C
Tue 15-Sep 60163: York-Wembley [Times]
E+C
Wed 16-Sep 60163: Wembley-Stewarts Lane [Times]
E+C
Thu 17-Sep 46233+45690: Carnforth-Barrow Hill [Times]
E+C
Thu 17-Sep 46115: Rugby-Carnforth [Times]
E+C
Fri 18-Sep 5043: Tyseley-Carnforth [Times]
E+C
Sat 19-Sep 5043: Carlisle-Settle-Carnforth [Times]
E+C
Sun 20-Sep 5043: Carnforth-Crewe-Tyseley [Times]
E+C
Week 39
Mon 21-Sep 61306: Sheringham-Norwich-Hitchin-Southall [Times]
E+C
Tue 22-Sep 70000: Kidderminster-Oxford-Southall [Times]
E+C
Week 40
Mon 28-Sep 45690: Barrow Hill-Carnforth [Times]
E+C
Mon 28-Sep 46233: Barrow Hill-Butterley [Times]
E+C
Tue 29-Sep 60163: York-Derby-Cheltenham-Bishops Lydeard [Times]
D+E+C
Wed 30-Sep 34067: Southall-Carnforth [Times]
E+C
Fri 02-Oct 45231: Carnforth-Doncaster [Times]
E+C
Week 41
Tue 06-Oct 60136: Bishops Lydeard-Kidderminster [Times]
D+E+C
Fri 09-Oct 45699: Carnforth-Hellifield-York [Times]
E+C
Sat 10-Oct 70000: Southall-Canterbury West [Times]
E+ECS
Sun 11-Oct 46115 45690+45699: York-Copy Pit-Carnforth [Times]
2E+2C
Week 42
Wed 14-Oct 46115: Carnforth-Hellifield-Blackburn-Carnforth [Times]
[Test run, Aborted at Carnforth]
E+C
Fri 16-Oct 46115: Carnforth-Hellifield-Blackburn-Carnforth [Times]
[Test run, 46115 failed at Wennington]
E+C+D
Fri 16-Oct 46233: Butterley-Barrow Hill-Derby [Times]
E+C
Week 43
Sat 24-Oct 62005: Fort William-Carnforth [Times]
D+E+ECS ?
Week 44
Mon 26-Oct 44871+45407: Bo'ness-Carnforth [Times]
2E+2C
Mon 26-Oct 45699: Carnforth-York [Revised Times]
E+ECS+D
Wed 28-Oct 60163: Kidderminster-Rugby-Hanwell-Stewarts LAne [Times] [CANCELLED] D+E+C
Wed 28-Oct 70000: Southall-Sheffield Park [Times] [CANCELLED]
[70000 unavailable]
E+C
Thu 29-Oct 46233: Butterley-Southall [Times]
E+C
Fri 30-Oct 45699: York-Carnforth [Times]
E+ECS+D
Sat 31-Oct 44871+45407: Carnforth-Blackburn [Times] 
2E+ECS
Week 45
Mon 02-Nov 46233: Acton Lane-Butterley [Times]
E+C
Tue 03-Nov 60007: Grosmont-York [Times] [CANCELLED] D+E+C
Week 46
Tue 10-Nov 70000: Sheffield Park-Southall - [CANCELLED]
[70000 unavailable]
E+C
Fri 13-Nov 46233: Butterley-Derby [Times]
E+C
Week 47
Tue 17-Nov 60007: Grosmont-York [Times]
D+E
Week 48
Wed 25-Nov 46100: Kidderminster-Crewe [Times]
D+E+C
Wed 25-Nov 34067 45407: Castleton-Bristol [Times]
D+ E+C
Fri 27-Nov 61306: Minehead-Southall [Times]
E+C
Fri 27-Nov 45407: Swanage-Bristol [Times]
D+E+C
Sun 29-Nov 45407: Bristol-Southall [Times]
[Ran diesel hauled without 45407]
D+E+ECS
Week 49
Mon 30-Nov 45407: Bristol-Southall -
E+C
Tue 01-Dec 45407: Southall-Bury [Times]
E+C
Tue 01-Dec 5043: Tyseley-Stratford-Tyseley -
E+ECS
Thu 03-Dec 34067: Carnforth-Hellifield-Carnforth -
E+C
Thu 03-Dec 46233: Butterley-Southall [Times]
E+C
Fri 04-Dec 34067: Carnforth-Southall [Times]
E+C
Week 50
Mon 07-Dec 34067: Acton Lane-Southall - E+C
Mon 07-Dec 46233: Ferme Park-Southall - E+C
Wed 09-Dec 46233: Southall-Norwich [Times]
D+E+ECS
Thu 10-Dec 44871: Bury-Grosmont [Times]
E+C
Fri 11-Dec 46233: Norwich-Southall [Times]
D+E+ECS
Sun 13-Dec 34067: Bristol-Southall [Times]
D+E+C
Week 51
Wed 16-Dec 60009: Craigentinny-Thornton TC [Times] D+E+C
Fri 18-Dec 45407: Bury-Southall [Times] E+C
Fri 18-Dec 61306: Southall-Carnforth [Times] E+C
Week 52
Mon 21-Dec 46100: Crewe-Carnforth [Times]
[Light test run]
E+C
Tue 22-Dec 46100: Carnforth-Blackburn-Carnforth [Times]
46100: Carnforth-Crewe [Times]
[Loaded test run]
E+ECS+D
E+C
Wed 23-Dec 45407: Southall-Bury [Times] D+E+C
Week 53
Sat 02-Jan    



[Movements in 2016]

[Return to top of page]



Locations of currently operational main line locos as at 02:00 Sun 20-Dec


Site          Locos
Southall (LS) --
Southall (WCRC) 34067, 45407
Stewarts Lane 60136
Didcot GWS srm93
Mid Hants Rly --
Bristol --
West Somerset Rly 4936
Tyseley 4965, 5043, 7752, 9600, 46201
Crewe 46100, 70000 5029, 34046, 35028,, 60019
Bury --
Butterley 46233 70013
Barrow Hill 45305
Carnforth 45231, 45690, 45699, 46115, 48151, 61306, 62005 44932
York NRM 60007
NYMR 44871, 61264, 61994
Thornton 60009
Fort William --
Elsewhere --


[Return to top of page]
Main Line Steam Tours index page
[Tours front page]


Whilst every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of this information,
no responsibility can be taken for any errors or omissions.

Comments by email to:webmaster at uksteam.info